Judges Announced for 2020 International Woolmark Prize

The judging panel includes Dior’s Kim Jones, model Anja Rubik, artist Takashi Murakami, activist Sinead Burke, and more

The judging panel of 2020 International Woolmark Prize, includes leading experts and tastemakers in the global fashion industry. The final announcement event will take place during London Fashion Week on February 17th 2020

The International Woolmark Prize judging panel includes:

Tim Blanks – Editor-at-Large, Business of Fashion
Hamish Bowles – International Editor at Large, Vogue
Sinead Burke – Educator and Advocate
Edward Enninful OBE – British Vogue Editor in Chief
Kim Jones – Artistic Director, Dior Men
Takashi Murakami – Artist and President of Kaikai Kiki Co., Ltd.
Holli Rogers – Chief Executive Officer, Browns & Chief Brand Officer, Farfetch
Anja Rubik – Model, Founder of sexedPL, Philanthropist
Shaway Yeh – Founder of yehyehyeh & Group Style Editorial Director at Modern Media group

This year’s event will see the introduction of the inaugural Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation, in honour of the late icon and and the first ever winner of the Woolmark Prize back in 1954. The award will be presented by Carine Roitfeld, Editor-in-Chief, CR Book. 

What an honour to be the first person to award the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation. Karl was always looking for new talent – a rare, encouraging force, instrumental in the development of many young designers. In today’s global fashion business, discovering, nurturing, and providing a platform of recognition for innovating creatives is absolutely crucial. – says Carine Roitfeld

Karl Lagerfeld IWP 1954 / Copyright KeystoneEyedeaHeadpress

The International Woolmark Prize is an institution for the fashion industry, and I am thrilled to participate. The competition shines a light on diversity and innovation and I’m very happy to be a part of that. – says Dior Men Artistic Director Kim Jones

One winner will receive AU$200,000 and one designer will receive AU$100,000 for the inaugural Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation.

The 2020 International Woolmark Prize finalists are:

A-COLD-WALL* – United Kingdom
BLINDNESS – South Korea
Botter – The Netherlands
Feng Chen Wang – China & UK
GmbH – Germany
Ludovic de Saint Sernin – France
Matthew Adams Dolan – USA
Namacheko – Belgium
Richard Malone – Ireland


LOOKBOOK: GENNY Pre-Fall 2020 Womenswear Collection


LOOKBOOK: STEVE O SMITH Pre-Fall 2020 Womenswear Collection